lim joe→∞

Teaching, Mathematics and Teaching Math.

Start here…

Posted by forumjoe on January 7, 2010

For the record, so I can look back and see where I was at professionally it’s this:

After one year in the profession, I don’t think I’m a very good teacher. Sure, lots of my kids got good marks last year, and I think I developed a good professional relationship with my peers and my students and their parents. I think even one or two of my lessons might have been engaging and interesting for my students. The most important thing for me at the moment is that I don’t mind this, because I’m trying my hardest. Teaching is easy, GOOD teaching is hard, and I’m confident that I’m improving constantly. But I also feel I could be improving faster, for which I’m going to be doing a shitload more reflection this year. I’m going to make a prediction now that if I look back on this paragraph in a year, or five years, or 20 years, I’ll say to myself “Huh, I still feel just like that now”. I don’t think it’s a bad place to be though. If I ever get complacent about my teaching, I’m not doing it right.

2 Responses to “Start here…”

  1. Mazil said

    After one year in the profession, I don’t think I’m a very good teacher.

    I think that’s a very realistic and hopeful thing to realise. On face value, it sounds a bit negative and I want to punch you in the arm and say “that’s not true!” (because I do think you would be a great teacher). But I think it’s positive to think that, this time next year, you’ll look back and say “I am a much better teacher than I was last year”, and to keep on seeing that improvement for years to come.

    As I’ve mentioned, I’ve recently been trying to work hard on my drawing. And although I love it, and generally feel happy with the results and can see a lot of improvement, it still feels hard. I thought maybe it would get easier, but now I think about it, anything you want to get better at will always feel hard. The goal will always be shifting.

  2. forumjoe said

    Yeah, that’s right. The opening line isn’t supposed to be negative, it’s supposed to be realistic. I don’t think anyone would say after one year in the profession that they’re a good teacher.

    It takes a lot of patience and determination to get good at something, and even though you’re talking about a hobby and I’m talking about a profession, it still takes a lot of hardwork in “your own time” to get it right. I’m looking forward to seeing some of your drawings sometimes. Beans has been doing a bit more painting of late too, and is looking forward to creating a webpage.

Leave a Reply

 
