lim joe→∞

Teaching, Mathematics and Teaching Math.

Steven Strogatz's Opinionator – NY Times

Posted by forumjoe on May 18, 2010

I’ve just spent an evening reading and re-reading Steven Strogatz series of Opinionator editorials in the new york times: http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/category/steven-strogatz/

I’m absolutely amazed at Strogatz’s ability to explain complex mathematical topics in a way that is understandable by most adults.  The links he provides in his notes sections go to incredible websites that provide hours of enjoyable and informative perusing.  The sort that makes me feel happy about reading about Maths at 10pm at night.

I really wish I could find a way to make my kids read these articles and understand them, but I’ve realised that’s impossible.  By definition, if I show my students an article, they will think it’s boring maths and switch off straight away.  Maybe if I print them out and get the students to paste them to the back of the cereal packet?

One Response to “Steven Strogatz's Opinionator – NY Times”

  1. Mazil said

    I’m sure there must be some kids who would enjoy reading them. Possibly only a very few, but even if one student reads it and enjoys it, I’m sure it’d be worth it.

    Do teachers email students these days? Maybe you could email it out and one or two of the more webby, keen students might have a look…

Leave a Reply

 
